Board of Directors/Committees

Our philosophy is simple, “Let’s co-create a sustainable, shared wellbeing.” We believe a community which supports the arts, fosters social capital which makes for a greater quality of life. We believe river stewardship is not an option but our responsibility as a river community. We support local because it is essential to our growth and the preservation of our economy. We are an ever growing “like” spirited community who is proud to call San Marcos, Texas, home… a place where we live, work and play.

Founding Members

July Moreno, Founder/Executive Director

Shirley Rogers

Fraye Stokes

The Becerra Family

Board of Directors

Monica Becerra

Carol Frank

Marieta Hutchison

Megan Jung

Christopher Hanson

Kayli Head

Natasha Koenigseder

Mermaid Chats and Guardian Patch Program

Marieta Hutchison, 
Mermaid Society Youth Outreach Liaison

Stephanie Brown, Troop 1098
Mermaid Society Youth Outreach Committee Member

Jennifer Bloodworth, Troop 616, Texas Star Service Unit - Mermaid Society Youth Outreach Committee Member

Angela Zumwalt, Mermaid Society Youth Outreach Mascot - Maya the Mermaid

STMX Mermaid SPLASH Leadership

Katilyn Polk, Event Director  
Mer-tini Shakedown Competition

Marieta Hutchinson, Liaison
Mermaid Chats & Guardian Patch Program

Kevin Gilley, Chair  
Mermaid Society Ball

Derek Head, Logistics Chair
Mermaid Society Ball

Reyna Caraveo, Event Mgt.
Mermaid Society Ball

Chelsea James, Volunteer Chair
Mermaid Society Ball

Megan Tuberville, Catering Chair
Mermaid Society Ball

Ruben Becerra, Chair
Downtown Mermaid Parade

Tim Bauerkemper, Logistics Chair  Downtown Mermaid Parade

Miranda Wait, Eco Village Co-Chairs Mermaid Aqua Faire

Kathryn Voigtel Welch, Artisan Alley Chair Mermaid Aqua Faire

Terri Hendrix, Stage Chair
Mermaid Aqua Faire

Tracy Weinberg, Stage Liaison
Mermaid Aqua Faire

Christopher Hanson, Chair
Arts Symposium

Kimberly Meitzen, Chair  
River Guardianship Symposium

Jana Minifie, Chair
Entrepreneurship and Small Business Symposium